UNPOS UN Website

UNPOSUnited Nations Political Office for Somalia

Home Site Map Contact Us

19:02:22, Friday, 24 Mar 2017
Chronology of Events in the Somali Peace Process

Chronology of Events

Start yourHosting Web, click here

Site Powered byhostingof United Nations

Display All Items

13 November 2012

The Somali Federal Parliament endorses the Council of Ministers which was announced by Prime Minister Abdi Farah Shirdon on 4 November. The ten member cabinet is the most streamlined in Somali history and the smallest in Africa while for the first time a woman holds a top ministerial position (Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs)

04 November 2012

Prime Minister Abdi Farah Shirdon announces the nomination of a Council of Ministers. It includes: Mrs Fawzia Yusuf Haji Adan, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr. Abdullahi Abyan Nur, Minster of Justice, Religious Affairs and Endowments, Mr. Abdihakin Mahamud Haji Fiqi, Minister of Defence, Mr. Abdikarim Hussein Guled, Minister of Interior and National Security, Mr. Mahamud Hassan Suleyman (Awil), Minister of Finance and Planning, Mr. Abdullahi Iil-Mooge Hirsi, Minister of Information and Telecommunication, Mr. Abdirisaq Omar Mohamed, Minister of National Resources, Mr. Muhyadin Mohamed Kalmoy, Minister of Public Works and Mrs Maryan Qasim, Minister of Social Services and Development.

17 October 2012

The Somali Federal Parliament endorses Mr. Abdi Farah Shirdon “Saacid” as the new Prime Minister of the Federal Republic of Somalia.

06 October 2012

President Hassan Sheikh nominates Abdi Farah Shirdon “Saacid”, an economist, entrepreneur and chairman of the Rajo Forum party he formed in 2012, for the post of Prime Minister of the Federal Republic of Somalia.

10 September 2012

Somalia’s Parliamentarians select Hassan Sheikh Mohamud, a former political activist and founder of Somalia’s first political party "Peace and Development Party (PDP)"

28 August 2012

Professor Mohammed Sheikh Osman (Jawari) is elected to represent the New Federal Parliament as their Speaker. Jeilani Nur Ikar and Mahad Abdalla Awed were also elected for the positions of the First Deputy and Second Deputy Speaker respectively.

20 August 2012

Inauguration of the new Somali Federal Parliament takes place in Mogadishu with some 215 of the total number of 275 Members of Parliament are sworn in, comfortably passing the benchmark of 185 which allows for the New Federal Parliament to convene with a functioning majority.

08 August 2012

President of Somalia Sheikh Sharif Sheikh Ahmed signs a presidential decree on the National Security and Stabilization Plan (NSSP). [link to the NSSP Somali and English version), which provides the immediate, medium and long-term priority actions required to strengthen the security and justice sector in Somalia.

01 August 2012

The National Constituent Assembly (NCA) adopts a draft Provisional Constitution. 621 delegates voted yes, 13 voted against and 11 abstained. [Somali version of the Draft Provisional Constitution]

25 July 2012

The 825-member National Constituent Assembly (NCA) convenes in Mogadishu to discuss, vote on, and adopts a new Provisional Constitution.

Page 1 of 29First   Previous   [1]  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  Next   Last